Having an Identity of Integrity

These are the reasons why having an identity of integrity is important to me.

IDENTITY

When it comes to identity, there are some things we can control and some things we can’t. For instance, we can’t choose our genetic make-up or where we were born or what family we were raised in. We typically don’t even choose our names.

I am Denise.
I am a redhead.
I am from a small farming town.

I did not choose these parts of my identity, but they are still true of me. Of course, there are other parts of my identity that I did choose.

I am a follower of Christ.
I am a wife.
I am a mom.
I am a teacher.
I am a writer.

INTEGRITY

With integrity, however, we have a choice. But what is integrity?

Integrity means wholeness, an undivided state of being.

I remember when I taught middle school math. The definition of an integer is a whole number. Not a fraction.

As a language arts teacher, I also know that to integrate is to bring together multiple parts to form a whole.

Integer
Integrate.
Integrity.

Obviously, they come from the same root word.

To be a person of integrity is to integrate the various parts of my identity into one whole person — the person I am at home, at school, at church, the grocery store, and everywhere else.

If I were to behave differently in these various places, then I would not be a person of integrity. But if I choose to be consistent in how I talk, how I act, and how I treat others — no matter where I am — then I become a person of integrity.

And that is the identity I want.

Who in your life influences you to have an identity of integrity?

Today, I’m joining Lisa-Jo, taking 5 minutes to write about “identity.”


Writing this post: 5 minutes
Uploading photos and links: 7 minutes
Spending Fridays with you: Priceless

37 thoughts on “Having an Identity of Integrity

  1. Wow, Denise, you really got me today with your post. Thank you for speaking to me in such a profound and important way. Love your family!

  2. “To be a person of integrity is to integrate the various parts of my identity into one whole person” I’m taking this with me — thank you! it’s brilliant and thought-provoking all wrapped into one.

    Beautiful 5 minute write, friend. Just like your family–my goodness!

    Hugs to you as I wish you a very Happy Mother’s Day!
    ~nikki

  3. I love this thought of being the whole of who you are no matter where you are or what role you play. I desire to be authentic in every area of my life and your teaching here sharpens my understanding of what that means…

    Thanks for that… blessings to you,

    Michele-Lyn

  4. I love your family picture…beautiful. I love your word play. How we need to be the same in all places, the same behavior there is such a great perspective. It is hard, but truth is hard. You are one of my favorite blogs to read! Thank you for sharing.

  5. I love word play and word history so your post is awesome. The idea that integrity can be equated with wholeness is new to me. And since my girls are redheads, I must say, that hair color carries a stronger identity than any other!

    • I like word history too! If I would have had more than 5 minutes, I would have looked up the root word of integrity. 🙂

      And, yes, for some reason, red hair color does carry a stronger identity. Perhaps because it’s the most rare hair color. 🙂

  6. powerful and convicting words. i think if you go back and look at the greek words that refer to identity (in a topical study of the word in the Bible), they also relate to consistency and sameness throughout the whole…

    to answer your question – i think my kids influence me most to have an identity of integrity – i’m so conscious of wanting to not just talk the talk but live and walk a life found only in Christ as they watch.

    as a middle school math teacher myself – i almost looked at integers and identity properties today… smile. 🙂

    have a lovely day!

  7. Love how you intertwined identity and integrity! And thankful to belong to Jesus like you!

    If you stop by my blog be sure to check out the personalized birthstone glass locket GIVEAWAY! 🙂

  8. Your question. No one! Everyone has a compartmentalized life, it seems! But the goal of being the same person…I wrote about that too, with a modernized myth. I think it’s definitely biblical. So thank you for reflecting on that and encouraging us to think. Am I loving and kind always? Am I able to keep peace…within…in all circumstances? God has been humbling me, showing me it is impossible without his power…so he can do it in me when I look to him. Maybe I can even say when he nudges me to look to him. Thanks for another nudge!

    • “God has been humbling me, showing me it is impossible without his power…so he can do it in me when I look to him.”

      Oh, I love this. It’s just so true. He makes all things possible.

  9. I love this! I never thought of integrity being an integration of who we are in different places, but it definitely is. A bringing together of all that we are, so that we present ourselves as one way in every place, as Christ’s hands, as His feet, always.

Leave a comment