Perspective

Descending into the ravine,
I hike along a well-worn path.

The towering Redwoods forbid the sunlight
from penetrating the tangled mess of branches above.

Thankful for the shade, I continue towards the basin.

The sound of moving water promises a creek awaiting.
Maybe even a modest waterfall.

A bridge leads me to another trail.

Skidding downwards, I land on a stone-bedded bank.

My toes take me to the water’s edge.

I kneel low. Camera poised.

Above. Below.
Across. Beside.

My feet never move, but from every angle, another scene emerges.

The bridge high above.
The trees all around.
The rocks strewn below.
The creek whistling by.

A situation comes to mind.

It’s so easy to convince ourselves
that we have complete understanding of any given situation.

It’s especially gratifying when our select group of friends
have the same interpretation, the same view.

But God is here.

He made the rocks, the trees, the water.

He speaks.

My feet never move, yet every picture I take
preserves another perspective of the same scene.

I am reminded that God’s perspective
is so much greater than our own.

God, forgive us when we convince ourselves that we know best, that we know all. Your ways are higher than our ways. And You see so much more than we see. Whenever we choose to consider a situation from a singular perspective, help us to see with spirit eyes — to see from Your perspective.

His light shines through.

“Open my eyes that I may see wonderful things in your law.”
~ Psalm 119:18

 

*Edited from archives. (While attending Mt. Hermon’s Christian Writer’s Conference, I took a walk, and when I reached this spot next to the water, I snapped as many shots as I could in every direction without moving my feet.)

3 thoughts on “Perspective

  1. His perspective is limitless, isn’t it. Seeing every option, He can pick the best one for me. Because He knows me that well. Oh to trust in that alone…
    Beautiful post, Denise! Your vantage point in the pics is mesmerizing. . .
    Enjoy your weekend, friend!

  2. This is a beautiful post on perspective! I’m finding myself just reading and rereading it, savoring.
    And this point is such a good one: “It’s so easy to convince ourselves that we have complete understanding of any given situation. It’s especially gratifying when our select group of friends
    have the same interpretation, the same view… But God is here.” The presence of God makes all the difference, and the quiet spot to experience Him unhindered such a blessing! Thanks for taking me along on the hike.

Leave a comment